Digital Natives / Native Entrepreneurs

2 Feb

youth entrepreneurship Social entrepreneurship, start-ups, youth unemployment… These topics seem to be very closely tied to each other these days. Obviously, the first two should somehow solve the last one.

But what do they all want from us, actually?

I refused the whole concept of entrepreneurship as a tool(?) to solve the problem of youth employment at the beginning, feeling a little angry as it was not how I imagined my future (read as too independent and uncertain). It simply seemed too risky to me to launch a start-up at this age and quickly changing times. But than I remembered how I happened to randomly “google” couple of the best opportunities in my life and I’ve realized that it’s very difficult to decide what is risky or not. It’s simply many times not possible to distinguish it, which leaves us with one option only – to try.

I’ve realized the best part of being a social entrepreneur just recently. Back in 2008 I co-founded a nonprofit organization called NO LABEL PROJECT as I felt there’s a lack of platforms dealing with online tools and their implementation within nonprofit sector. I’ve spent more than two full-time years working on it having now idea it was actually my first start-up. It was risky, but it turned out to be the greatest learning opportunity I’ve had so far.

I have to admit is interesting to realize that I was not aware that I am acting like an entrepreneur. I had to take responsibility and co-create most of the opportunities that came my way. I simply had no other choice. (If I don’t count staying home and being unemployed.) I did’n have to think about whether I want to act like an entrepreneur or not. I somehow naturally became one together with many of my friends and acquaintances.

We are a generation which has to take responsibility for ourself because we live in the age of personal responsibility. We have to take that as a fact. And deal with it. Many of us are entrepreneurs by nature even though we don’t realize it. That’s how we approach our studies, our free time, our lives. We no longer wait for opportunities to come our way as we know there’s too much of us (people of our generation) and too little of job openings or other possibilities. That’s why we have to be very creative about our lives.

We are digital natives and we don’t have to think about it. And we very probably are native entrepreneurs as well, without thinking about it once again. And we should simply make the best of it.

This blog post has been originally posted at http://www.nolabelproject.com/.

photo Freedom by Kliefi licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Leave a Reply

